Try 1 month for 99¢
Leipheimer win
AP photo - Butte native Levi Leipheimer of Team RadioShack competes in the ninth and final stage of the 75th Tour of Switzerland on Sunday in Schaffhausen, Switzerland.

SCHAFFHAUSEN, Switzerland — Butte native Levi Leipheimer won the Tour of Switzerland on Sunday, overtaking Damiano Cunego of Italy in the final time trial. 

Leipheimer, a 37-year-old RadioShack rider, finished in 31 hours, 45 minutes, 2 seconds. Cunego had worn the yellow jersey since last Monday and finished four seconds behind. 

“What a race. I really didn’t know how close it was with Cunego,” Leipheimer said in a team press release. “All I heard was my director yelling at me in the last corner, ‘Sprint, sprint,’ and I could hear in his voice that it really was a question of seconds.” 

Steven Kruijswijk of the Netherlands was third, 62 seconds behind the leader, and Tejay van Garderen, who grew up in Bozeman and rides for HTC-Highroad, was 11th overall despite equipment problems during the last stage. 

Switzerland’s Fabian Cancellara won the ninth and final stage, a 20-mile circuit around the northern city of Schaffhausen. Cancellara also won the time trial on the first day. 

This year’s race was overshadowed by the crash of Juan Mauricio Soler on Thursday. His Movistar team said the Colombian’s condition is improving, but he remains in an induced coma with a fractured skull and ankle. 

The Tour of Switzerland leads to the Tour de France, which starts on the French Atlantic coast July 2.

“I am very happy I did not disappoint,” Leipheimer said. “Now it’s time to take some rest and start in the Tour de France.”

Tour de Suisse 

At Schaffhausen, Switzerland

Ninth Stage

A 20-mile individual time trial around Schaffhausen

1. Fabian Cancellara, Switzerland, Leopard-Trek, 41 minutes, 1 second.

2. Andreas Kloeden, Germany, RadioShack, 9 seconds behind.

3. Levi Leipheimer, United States, RadioShack, :13.

4. Nelson Oliveira, Portugal, RadioShack, :25.

5. Tom Danielson, United States, Garmin-Cervelo, :38.

6. Gustav Larsson, Sweden, Saxo Bank-Sungard, :41.

7. Jakob Fuglsang, Denmark, Leopard-Trek, :44.

8. Thomas De Gendt, Belgium, Vacansoleil-DCM, :48.

9. Chris Froome, Britain, Team Sky, 1:02.

10. Christian Vandevelde, United States, Garmin-Cervelo, 1:04.

Overall Standings


Get the latest sports news and scores sent to your email inbox

1. Levi Leipheimer, United States, RadioShack, 27 hours, 9 minutes, 49 seconds.

2. Damiano Cunego, Italy, Lampre, 4 seconds behind.

3. Steven Kruijswijk, Netherlands, Rabobank, 1:02.

4. Jakob Fuglsang, Denmark, Leopard-Trek, 1:10.

5. Bauke Mollema, Netherlands, Rabobank, 2:05.

6. Mathias Frank, Switzerland, BMC Racing, 2:24.

7. Frank Schleck, Luxembourg, Leopard-Trek, 2:35.

8. Laurens ten Dam, Netherlands, Rabobank, 3:11.

9. Tom Danielson, United States, Garmin-Cervelo, 3:17.

10. Maxime Monfort, Belgium, Leopard-Trek, 4:12.

11. Tejay van Garderen, United States, HTC-Highroad, 4:15.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments