I voted stock image

Helena's 10 school board candidates have been invited to a public forum slated for April 25. 

The doors will open at 5:30 p.m. and the forum will start at 5:45 p.m. in the auditorium of the Department of Public Health and Human Services office at 111 N. Sanders St. Parking is available on the east side of the building, and the public is advised to use the north entrance to access the auditorium.

The 10 candidates are competing for the three seats up for election this year. All school board positions have three-year terms.

The candidates on the ballot are John H. McEwen and incumbent Libby Goldes. The write-in candidates are Douglas (Doug) Hansen, Michael Spreadbury, Angela Ewing-Hyyppa, Ralph A Moody, Ella Currier, Justin Stolp, Siobhan K. Hathhorn and Phoebe Williams. 

To cast a ballot for a write-in candidate, a voter must fill in the oval next to the write-in line and spell out the person’s name or one of the variations of the person's name provided on the registration form.

Ballots will be mailed to voters April 22 and must be returned by May 7. 

Thursday's candidate forum will be hosted and moderated by the Independent Record. It will be streamed live at helenair.com.

For more information, call IR Editor Jesse Chaney at 406-447-4074.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments