Mail-in voting in Lewis and Clark County ended at 8 p.m. Tuesday. 

Results are considered preliminary until canvassed by the Lewis and Clark County Commission. 

With less than 100 provisional ballots yet to be counted, here are the preliminary results in the following elections. 

Helena City Commission

Sean Logan and Emily Dean will replace Ed Noonan and Kali Wicks on the Helena City Commission.

Logan is a retired Helena fire chief. Dean is the communications specialist for the Montana School Boards Association.

Noonan and Wicks both unsuccessfully ran to retain their seats on the city commission. Noonan is a longtime arts advocate and Carroll College professor who won election in 2015. Wicks is the government relations manager at Blue Cross and Blue Shield who was appointed last year. 

Helena Businessman Greg Painter was also in the running. Katie Ryan, who is a current school bus driver and former city transportation employee, ran as a write-in candidate. 

Election results: 

  • Sean Logan: 4,155 
  • Emily Dean: 3,706
  • Kali Wicks: 3,407
  • Ed Noonan: 2,818
  • Greg Painter: 2,520
  • Katie Ryan (write-in): 68

Helena municipal court judge

Defense attorney Jack Morris unsuccessfully challenged current Judge Anne Peterson in the race for Helena municipal court judge

Election results: 

  • Anne Peterson: 6,759
  • Jack Morris: 1,654

East Helena City Commission

Kelly Harris defeated Liza Zeigler in the race for the Ward 2 East Helena City Commission seat currently held by Mike Misowic. 

With nobody registered to run for the Ward 1 seat on the East Helena City Commission, voters could cast their ballots for anyone who meets the qualifications for the position. Election officials have until the election results are canvassed on Nov. 18 to determine which write-in votes are valid. If the winner of the Ward 1 seat wants the job, he or she will have until Nov. 28 to formally accept the position and pay the filing fee of $40.80. 

Election results: 

Ward 2

  • Kelly Harris: 210
  • Liza Zeigler: 87

Ward 1 (write-in)

This report includes all write-in votes recorded on Election Day, including any invalid votes. 

  • Kelly Harris: 5
  • Kevin Hand: 3
  • Kit Johnson: 3
  • Charlie P Hull Jr: 2
  • Delane Erickson: 2
  • Terri Casey: 2
  • Liza Zeigler: 2
  • Jim Meier: 2
  • Jonathan Heslep: 2
  • Judy Leland: 2
  • Velma Dinley: 1
  • Phillip Williams: 1
  • Liza Ziegler: 1
  • Republican: 1
  • John G. Mullen: 1
  • Brenda Brewer: 1
  • Ken Soderberg: 1
  • David Sperzum: 1
  • Landon Jemsley: 1
  • Ron Flieshner: 1

Nonpartisan county elections 

Lewis and Clark County voters approved a measure to conduct county elections on a nonpartisan basis. 

In the past, anyone running for the position of county commissioner, county attorney, sheriff/coroner, county superintendent of schools, district court clerk, and treasurer/clerk and recorder was required to declare their party affiliation when registering as a candidate.  

Election results: 

  • Nonpartisan: 10,151
  • Partisan: 8,014

Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments