voting stockimage vote polls election

The following election results were reported Wednesday. The results do not include provisional ballots, and they are considered unofficial until canvassed. 

Lewis and Clark County Sheriff/Coroner

Democrat and incumbent sheriff Leo Dutton won the combined sheriff/coroner race decisively against Republican challenger Jay Nelson with 23,323 votes to Nelson's 10,815 votes. Dutton took 68 percent of the vote to Nelson's 32 percent. 

Lewis and Clark County Superintendent of Schools

Republican incumbent Katrina Chaney defeated Democratic challenger Reg Hageman in the race for Lewis and Clark County superintendent of schools. Chaney had 17,922 votes (54 percent) and Hageman had 15,343 (46 percent). 

Senate District 41

Democrat Rep. Janet Ellis took an easy victory against political newcomer Republican John Schmidt. Ellis received 5,925 votes to Schmidt's 5,299 for a 58 percent to 42 percent advantage.

Senate District 42

Incumbent Democrat Jill Cohenour defeated Republican Bob Leach to retain her seat. Cohenour received 5,446 votes to Leach's 4,082, a 57 percent to 43 percent split.

Senate District 9

Republican Bruce "Butch" Gillespie of Kevin defeated Kurt Dyer of Brady, with 6,306 to 2,300 votes.

House District 17

Incumbent Republican Ross Fitzgerald of Fairfield easily won re-election against Democrat Rick Kerr. Fitzgerald received 3,578 votes to Kerr's 1,210.

House District 70

Republican Julie Dooling did not face a Democrat but did soundly defeat Libertarian Chris Richards. Dooling received 4,635 votes to Richards' 1,035.

House District 75

Republican Greg Devries will represent HD75 after his victory over J. Bryher Herak. Devries received 3,332 votes to Herak's 2,474.

House District 80

Incumbent Republican Becky Beard will return to the House after a strong victory over Democrat Catherine Scott. Beard received 4,133 votes to Scott's 1,656. 

PSC District 1

Republican Randy Pinocci is the overwhelming winner of the Public Service Commission's District 1 seat. Pinocci had 41,312 votes, compared to Democrat Doug Kaercher’s 8,261 votes.

PSC District 5

Republican Brad Johnson will keep his public service commissioner seat in District 5, with 59,220 votes over Democrat Andy Shirtliff's 43,045 votes.

Jefferson County races

Jefferson County Commissioner Bob Mullen retained his seat with a commanding 4,000 to 1,700 win over David Murray.

The Jefferson County Justice of the Peace race went to Dean Hildebrand at 52 percent, compared to 47 percent for Steve Anderson. Hildebrand received 3,027 votes, compared to Anderson’s 2,702.

Jefferson County voters resoundingly passed an emergency broadcasting system mill levy with 61 percent approving. A total of 4,092 people voted for the mill levy and 2,610 voted against it. 

Broadwater County races

Darrel Folkvord won the Broadwater County Commission race, carrying 79 percent of the vote to 21 percent for Nye Howey. Folkvord received about 2,600 votes to a little more than 600 for Howey.

Sheriff Wynn Meehan defeated Josh Peters, taking 81 percent of the vote. Meehan received nearly 2,500 votes to Peters' 671.

Broadwater County voted down a mill levy for the hospital, with about 41 percent voting for and 59 percent against, about a 500-vote split out of nearly 2,800 cast.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments