football brief

At the year-end Helena Small Fry Football League championships last Thursday at Vigilante Stadium under the lights, LaCasa Fiesta won the Seniors championship, while Capital Sports garnered the Juniors title.

In the Seniors (Grades 7-8) final, LaCasa Fiesta defeated CDM Smith 30-6. Tiegan Cozzie and Rayce Neil rushed for two touchdowns apiece for the champs, and kicker Trystan Gilliam booted three two-point PATs.

LaCasa quarterback Matt Burton completed 4 of 6 passes, to Brevin Curtin (twice), Jacob Welnel and Quinn Belcher. The winners’ defense was led by Gilliam, Tyler Silvonen and Kevin Northey.

Nico Bugni rushed to pay-dirt for CDM Smith’s lone score.

Capital Sports edged First Interstate Bank 26-24 in the Juniors (Grades 5-6) chipper.

The winners scores were provided by two Hudsen Grovom TD passes, to Joe Michelotti and Dylan Chisholm; Nick Michelotti’s touchdown run; a pick-six by defender Hayden Opitz; and a pair of Nick Michelotti extra point conversions.

Get the latest sports news and scores sent to your email inbox

Reaching the end zone for FIB, were Wyatt Carroll, Logan Carroll and Payton Tavary. Teammate Morgan Bell kicked three two-point conversions.

Capital Sports’ defense featured Joey Lauerman, Mateo Bugni, Nick and Joe Michelotti, Evan Coble, Mitch Renk, Ayden Smelko, Opitz, Grovom, Chisolm and Luke Dowdey.


Sports Reporter

Load comments