HELENA -- The No. 12-ranked Carroll College women’s cross country team ran to their third consecutive Frontier Conference title on Friday at the league championship in Lewiston, Idaho. 

Saints runners Janie Reid and Samantha Mundel finished 1-2 for the Saints. Reid clocked at 17:38 while Mundel came in right behind in a time of 17:39. Both were just shy of their PRs.

“Obviously Janie and Sam ran really well,” Saints coach David Morris said. “They got us off to a good start. (Pierson) had a really good race and took off two-and-half miles in. She passed a few people at the end which was really big for us.”

Kendyl Pierson and Brigid Bradshaw cracked the Top 10. Pierson finished seventh in a time of 18:53 and Bradshaw took 10th in a time of 19:00. Other placers for the Saints were Teal Bullick, who came in 12th in a time of 19:14, and Elly Machado, who took 20th in a time of 19:52, and Kaitlin Stromberg, who placed 30th in a time of 20:51.

Bradshaw hadn’t run a cross country race in three years, after running as a high school student. Morris said he added Bradshaw, who is an 800-meter runner mostly, for some extra insurance on the women’s side.

The Saints had 32 points overall as team, beating out second place Lewis-Clark State College who had 50.

On the men’s side, Layne Ryerson had the top mark for the Saints, taking eighth in a time of 25:38.

John Cooney and Ben Wood each placed in the Top 20. Cooney ran a 26:08 and Wood recorded a time of 26:26.

Get the latest sports news and scores sent to your email inbox

Rounding out the Saints’ placers were Drake Johnson (22nd, 26:43), Joe Mullenger (25th, 26:57), Taylor Smith (31st, 27:18) and Drew Zwijack (32, 27:33).

As a team, the Saints men placed third, behind No. 3 nationally-ranked Lewis-Clark State and Rocky Mountain College.

“We didn’t have the endurance today,” Morris said, “Got off to a good start, but kind of fell behind in the middle. Finished okay. The times weren’t bad.”

With their finishes, the women’s team and Ryerson have qualified for nationals, which are held in Vancouver, Washington, on Nov. 18.


Load comments