Carroll men (copy)

Carroll's Zach Taylor squares up for a shot during the second half of a home game against Montana Western earlier this month.

Carroll College senior Zach Taylor has been named to the Bevo Francis Award Top 50 Watch List by Small College Basketball, the organization announced Wednesday.

The award is presented annually to the player who has had the finest overall season within small college basketball. Considerations will be season statistics and individual achievements, awards, personal character and team achievements.

The watch list consists of 50 players from NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA Division I, NAIA Division II, USCAA and NCCAA. There are more than 1,000 schools that play in those divisions.

"It's incredibly difficult to narrow this list to 50 players for the Bevo Francis Award," said SBC Founder, John McCarthy. "There are a tremendous amount of players that are having outstanding seasons, yet when you try to choose 50 players from about 1,100 to 1,200 teams, it's a daunting task. Our committee has spent a good deal of time providing a lot of feedback, and I am grateful to have so many credible coaches that are engaged in this process.

"We are guided by our criteria for the Bevo Francis Award; individual achievements, statistics, awards, milestones and certainly team success is considered. As we move forward in the process, personal character will be researched and factored into the equation."

Taylor has helped lead the Saints to a 21-5 record and a No. 8 ranking in the NAIA Division I poll. He is second on the team with 17.3 points and 4.4 rebounds per game. Taylor leads the Saints with 91 assists and is sixth in the NAIA with 54 total steals. He is 16th in the nation in shooting percentage at 53.2 and 11th in 3-point field goal percentage at 48.4

Get the latest sports news and scores sent to your email inbox

He is the only Frontier Conference player to be named to the list.

A 25-player watch list will be published March 15. The finalists will be announced in a highlight video that will be released April 1, while the Bevo Francis Award winner will be announced April 3.

The award is sponsored by Sheward-Fulks Insurance and the University of Rio Grande.


Load comments