Subscribe for 17¢ / day
Hannah Caudill

Guard Hannah Caudill was named Montana State's team MVP for the 2017-18 season.


BOZEMAN — The Montana State women’s basketball team announced its award winners for the 2017-18 season at the annual senior night banquet at Riverside Country Club.

Seniors Hannah Caudill, Rebekah Hatchard and Delany Junkermier all took home honors for their efforts in guiding MSU to a 16-15 overall mark and a 9-9 Big Sky Conference record.

Caudill, a native of Spokane, Wash., was named team MVP after smashing the all-time school record for assists with 508, surpassing the mark of 443 held by Vicki Heebner Carle (1980-84). In addition, Caudill earned third-team All-Big Sky honors after leading the league averaging 6.1 assists per game. She also finished with a school single-season record connecting on 81 three-pointers.

Caudill became the 23rd member of MSU’s prestigious 1,000-point club. She finished her four years in the Blue and Gold with 1,052 points, which is 19th all-time. The Gonzaga Prep grad averaged 11.4 points and started all 31 games. For her career, Caudill ranks third all-time playing in 122 contests.

Hatchard, a product of Adelaide, Australia, garnered the MSU strength and conditioning award as well as The Eddy — MSU’s top defensive player honor. Hatchard averaged 8.0 points and 3.3 rebounds per game, while playing all 31 contests, including 21 starts. Hatchard also won The Eddy last season guiding the Bobcats to the Big Sky Conference title.

Junkermier and freshman Tori Martell shared the most improved player award. Junkermier led the Bobcats averaging 14.8 points per game in Big Sky action. The mark was a significant increase from her 2016-17 average of 8.6 points per contest. Martell, a native of Somerset, Wis., saw her production increase to 8.4 points per game over the final eight outings of the season.

Sophomore Madisyn Shaide won the Dr. Ginny Hunt Bobcat Pride award for the second consecutive season. Shaide played in 16 games and garnered All-Big Sky Conference academic accolades.

Senior Claire Lundberg, who sat out the year after transferring from Seton Hall, earned The Pulfrey Brick award, given to the player demonstrating hard-work and character.


Load comments