Caregiver support group meets monthly

Big Sky Caregivers Connect invites family caregivers to join other caregivers in a relaxed and friendly caregivers’ support group. Caregivers share experiences, learn from one another and glean information in a professionally led atmosphere. The group meets monthly on the fourth Wednesday, Dec. 27, noon, for one hour at Touchmark, 915 Saddle Drive. No cost or registration required. Bring a brown bag lunch. Beverages provided. For rapid reimbursement of respite care expenses for your care recipient, phone DPHHS at 234-6054. To make arrangements for complementary respite care at Touchmark during the support group meeting, phone 449-4900. Call Bev at 475-4261 for questions. Or, visit www.bridgeshcc.org for detail about Helena Community Connections’ Bridges programs.


Gentle Ways program meets on Tuesdays

Gentle Ways is offered every Tuesday morning from 9:30-10:30 a.m. at 2330 E. Broadway, and is a yoga-related exercise, strengthening, stretching and balancing program for all. The program is free and no registration is required. Workshop is led by retired yoga practitioners. Gentle Ways is offered in a relaxed environment. Contact Sandee at 442-1685 or visit www.bridgeshcc.org for more information about Helena Community Connections’ Bridges programs. 


Senator Tester nominates area students to academies

U.S. Senator Jon Tester has announced he is nominating 27 Montana students for admission to the country’s four prestigious military service academies.

To attend the U.S. Air Force Academy, the U.S. Military Academy, the U.S. Naval Academy, the U.S. Coast Guard Academy, or the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, a student must be nominated by a member of Congress.

Helena-area students nominated:

  • Claudia Downing: U.S. Military Academy, U.S. Air Force Academy, U.S. Naval Academy, U. S. Merchant Marine Academy
  • Maggie Smiedala: U.S. Military Academy
  • Kamrin Rosling: U.S. Military Academy
  • Grayson Weber: U.S. Naval Academy
  • Taylor Sullivan: U.S. Military Academy
  • James Riley Johnson III: U.S. Military Academy
  • Christopher Bokovoy: U.S. Air Force Academy 


Clay Van Diest, of Helena, has been named to the 2017 fall semester dean's list at St. Norbert College. A minimum 3.5 grade point average is required for academic eligibility.


Carroll student gets scholarship

Kaia Roberge, a sophomore at Carroll College majoring in sociology, has received a Civic Engagement Scholarship from the Montana Campus Compact, based at the University of Montana.

The Civic Engagement Scholarships recognize students at MTCC affiliate campuses who have dedicated significant time and resources to volunteer projects while they are pursuing a degree or certificate. Roberge volunteers many hours each month at the Friendship Center, a women’s shelter and resource center for victims of sexual assault and domestic violence in Helena.  


Rocky releases fall dean's list

Rocky Mountain College released the 2017 fall semester dean’s list, which includes students who maintained a 3.60 to 3.99 grade point average (GPA). High honors students who maintained at 4.0 GPA will be noted with an asterisk (*).

Helena: Anthony, Terry*; Cummings, Aryn*; Ellsworth, Jessica*; Koch, Alexander; Richards, Kajlea; and Sparks, Nicole*

Townsend: DeMars, Anna


Area students earn degrees from UM

The Montana students listed below are UM degree candidates or have been awarded their degrees for fall semester 2017.

A single asterisk after the student’s name indicates the student is expected to complete degree requirements and graduate with honors by achieving a GPA of 3.4 or higher. Double asterisks indicate the student is expected to complete degree requirements and graduate with high honors by achieving a 3.7 GPA or higher.

Boulder: Alexandra Hildebrand, BS in Business Administration: Marketing

Clancy: Samantha Becker, Bachelor of Science: Biology; Megan Beigh, Bachelor of Arts: Communication Studies; Zoe Coate, BS in Business Administration: Management; Darby Harris, Juris Doctor: Law; Mallory Herzog, Associate of Applied Science: Management

East Helena: Kourtney Zeigler, Bachelor of Arts: Art**

Helena: Bradie Austin, BS in Business Administration: Accounting; Emmaline Bristow, Bachelor of Arts: English**; Tucker Costain, Bachelor of Science: Biology**; Angela Dusko, Master of Public Health: Public Health; Stephenie Horne, BS in Wildlife Biology: Wildlife Biology**; Kaitlin Martin, BS in Resource Conservation: Resource Conservation*; McKaulie Matteson, Associate of Arts: General AA; Clare Menahan, BA in Journalism: Journalism*; Dyllan Murray, BS in Business Administration: Management Information Systems*; Dyllan Murray, Certificate: Geographic Information Systems; Caitlin Peaslee, Bachelor of Science: Biology; Jacob Rivers, Bachelor of Arts: French; Clayton Springmeyer, Bachelor of Arts: English; Kellen Swingley, Bachelor of Science: Biology; Tasha Van Nice, Master of Education: Curriculum & Instruction

Lincoln: Reanne Gehring, Associate of Arts: General AA; Toni Hagen, Associate of Arts: General AA

Montana City: Claudia Morrison, Master of Education: Curriculum & Instruction

Townsend: Sarah Hamburg, Bachelor of Arts: Spanish*

White Sulphur Springs: Kelsie Lopp, Associate of Applied Science: Respiratory Care**


U.S. Air Force Airman Sydney A. McCormick graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas.

The airman completed an intensive, eight-week program that included training in military discipline and studies, Air Force core values, physical fitness, and basic warfare principles and skills.

Airmen who complete basic training also earn four credits toward an associate in applied science degree through the Community College of the Air Force.

McCormick is the daughter of Daniel and Kristian McCormick of Helena.

She is a 2015 graduate of Capital High School.