Area IV Agency on Aging information

On Wednesday, Aug. 9, Area IV Agency on Aging staff will be available from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Helena Senior Center, 200 S. Cruse Ave., to provide information on community services available to seniors. Area IV staff are able to help individuals and their families/caregivers understand how to use community resources and services, offer benefits and fraud prevention counseling on Medicare, and advocate for long-term care residents. This service is free.


Summer Climate Advocate Training upcoming

Citizens’ Climate Lobby (CCL) is a volunteer driven nonprofit that engages folks with differing political beliefs, in Congress and on Main Street, to advocate for a highly effective, market-based solution to lower emissions and climate risk, while boosting the economy.

Come learn about this solution and respectful advocacy techniques for building bridges on this issue during a three-hour interactive Climate Advocate Training in Helena on Sunday, Aug. 6, from 1-4 p.m. at the Placer Hotel Lobby, 21 N. Last Chance Gulch. The training will be led by Bill Barron, the Wild West Regional Coordinator for CCL, who will be visiting Montana from his home state of Utah.

RSVP at bit.ly/RSVPHelenaCAT. Contact CCL Helena co-leader, John Hoffland at adamsFamily_13@q.com or 475-0079.

This event is free and open to the public.


Walk to end Alzheimer's event upcoming

The Alzheimer’s Association announced the volunteer committee leading the way for the 2017 Walk to End Alzheimer’s, which will take place on Saturday, Sept. 9, at Spring Meadow Lake.

Committee members include Susan Gobbs, Jayme Klehfoth, Nanette Whitman-Holmes and Keri Yoder. More volunteers are welcome and encouraged to join the planning committee.

All are invited to this year’s event to raise awareness and funds to fight Alzheimer’s disease. Start or join a team today at alz.org/walk or 800-272-3900.



Haulers needed for donated hay

Hay donations throughout the state and country have continued to pour in as producers assess damage and recover from the fire and drought conditions in eastern Montana. Now, hay haulers are needed to help get these donations to it their destination. There is currently a significant need to haul donated hay from western Montana.

If you or someone you know can haul hay to eastern Montana, call the Montana Agriculture Fire & Drought Assistance Hotline at 1-844-515-1571.

The Department will help coordinate efforts with the affected parties. The hotline is staffed from 8 a.m.-5 p.m., Monday-Friday. 

The Department is gathering information on programs and donations to help those affected. Visit www.agr.mt.gov/Fire-Drought-Assistance-2017 for more information.


Board meeting canceled

The Helena Parking Commission Board meeting scheduled for Thursday, Aug. 10, has been canceled. For more information, call 447-8422. 


Chalk Up Helena! winners announced

The Helena Public Arts Committee has announced award winners from the 2017 Chalk Up Helena! sidewalk chalk art event held July 15 on the Downtown Walking Mall. The People’s Choice winners were voted by participants and spectators. Winners of the Judges’ Choice and Professional awards were selected by a panel of three judges: Patty Ceglio, artist; Chris Riccardo, Holter Museum of Art; and Sandy Shull, Birds and Beasleys. New this year, the professional category offered contestants an opportunity to compete for a $400 award.

Ages 10 and younger: Kimber Snarr, Judges’ Award; Zulfiya Kirichenko, People’s Choice

Ages 11-14: Kennedy Seipel, Judges’ Award and People’s Choice

Ages 15-18: Abby Stiffler, Judges’ Award; Keisha Gerhardt, People’s Choice

Ages 19 and older: Hannah Harvey, Judges’ Award and People’s Choice

Team: Aria Malkin and Family, Judges’ Award; Woodland Family, People’s Choice

Professional: Amber Peterson


Get tips on free stuff and fun ideas delivered weekly to your inbox


Nicholas Burton Davey, of Helena, graduated from Fort Hays State University, Hays, Kansas, in the spring 2017 semester with a Bachelor of General Studies (geosciences).


Montana State University has announced its undergraduate honor rolls for spring semester 2017.

There are two MSU honor roll lists: the president's honor roll and the dean's honor roll. Students must complete a minimum of 12 degree-eligible credit hours to be on either list. Students with a perfect 4.0 grade point average for the semester were named to the president's honor roll. An asterisk follows the names of the students named to the MSU president's honor roll.

Avon: Sara Forbes*, Will Senecal

Basin: Mikal Overturf, Lauren Rego

Boulder: Darcie Bullock, Sydney Jones, Jacob Smith, Sarah Strausser, Rebecca Warner

Canyon Creek: Michael Hamel, Jeremy Rich

Clancy: Lauralee Bruce, Sarah Bryson, Abigail Caldwell, Colby Demaray, Courtney Dowling*, Hannah Erickson, Madison Floding, Katie Hagengruber, Jean Heetderks*, Jenna Joki, Kylie MacDonald, Ashley Nash*, Jered Padmos, Rylie Peccia*, Elizabeth Rieger*, Serrana Scholten, Brandt Seitz*, Rebecca Wacker, Trevor Weaver*, Charles Williams*

East Helena: Joseph Gomez, Shannon Harris, Paul Kalgaard, Kaitlyn Kleppelid, Nicolette Kleppelid, Stephanie Listoe*, Shealyn MacKay, Katie Marohn, Kyle Miller, Jacob O'Malley, Lindsey Redmond*, Kinsey Vavruska, Haley Walter

Elliston: Sutton Johnson, Garrett Quigley

Helena: Emily Armstrong, Travis Ball, Jonathan Ballard, Keinan Balsam, Colton Bauer, Grace Berner, Rebecca Blair, Taylor Blossom*, Ryan Brand, Chelsea Bryant, Benjamin Bushnell, Thomas Bushnell, Nathaniel Camaret, Amanda Cech, Emmalea Chan, Zachary Coe, Logan Colegrove, Christian Collins, Roxana Condon*, Jeremiah Coon, Colter Curey, Jessica Darlington*, Logan Davis, Elizabeth Desch, Emily Dummer, Tember Dykgreve, Dillon Ecord*, Duncan Ellis*, Nathan Ellis, Olivia Ellis*, Emily Felde, Julia Fisher, Wyatt Fitz, Rae Fitzpatrick, Mariah Garza, Jocelyn Gates, Meghann Glaid*, Sierra Goltry*, Liam Grundler*, Christian Guenthner, Olivia Haider*, Sam Hilger, Kasey Hoerning, James Hogan, Jordan Jakovac*, Quenten Jatkowski, Teagan Jendro, Samuel Johnson, Braxton Kent, Andrew Kilpatrick, Grace Kimball, Tory Kirkeby, Logan Kruse, Katherine Kubicka*, Emma Lamping*, Brooke Lanier*, Keely Larson, Katie Lasalle, David Lindgren, Austin Lopez, Hannah Ludlow, Jaden Maharg, Logan Marquardt, Rylee Mathews*, Jackson Maynard, Andrew McBroom, Victoria McHugh, Andrew McLain, Levi Merkel*, Nicholas Moreni, Ella Mullen, Connor Munsey, Andrew Murphy, Stephen Murray, Damaris Nance, Robert Nelson, Mary Nickol, Daryn Nisbet, Bailly Noble, Abigail Northrup, Jared Northrup, Heather Olson*, Katya Peterson*, Kayla Pocha, Ashleigh Poppler, Danielle Prebil, Kathryn Price, Shelby Purvis, Daniel Quinones, Cole Reiman, Caroline Requa, Alyson Rickman, Paul Roberts, Quinci Robertson*, Kristyna Rudio, Felicia Sappington, Mark Sargent, Ally Sather, Kayla Schell, Melissa Shea, Kaitlynn Skoog, Abigale Snortland*, Morgan Spurzem, James Stangeland, Joshua Steiner, Alyssa Stewart*, Jason Strand, Kylie Strandberg, Haaken Syvrud, Shannon Thennis, Scott Tilton, Syris Trahan, Austyn Traxler, Cal Treadway, Helena Tupper, Jordan Umsted, Zachary Umsted*, Kylee VanHemelryck*, Madyson Vanover, Aidan Wade, Kelsey Wadsworth, Joseph Whitney, Connlan Whyte, Jacob Wilson*, Heather Wise, Cassidy Wong*, Nathaniel Wordal

Jefferson City: Jordan Anspach, Kristin Edwards

Montana City: Hannele Ballantyne*, Shelby Bellander*, Katherine Chamberlain

Toston: Travis Kimm

Townsend: Melanie Booth*, Kaleb Crook, Bailee Field, Morgan Obert, Mariah Saltzman*, Chiara Warner

Whitehall: Amelia Getty, Hillary Hatch*, Bryce Murphy, Kaden Peeples, Jenna Schaack


Load comments